Get in Touch

Events

 

MR B's EVENTS & BOOK GROUPS FOR 2015

We are currently lining up our events schedule for 2015. We'll keep updating this page with lots of exciting new events so keep checking back to see if your favourite author has been added to the bill. Alternatively do sign up for our newsletter to be kept up-to-date with all of our new events.

 


 
February
24th

AROUND THE WORLD

WITH MR B's

with special guest author

HORATIO CLARE

Tuesday 24th February

7pm at Mr B's


A night upon the high seas in the company of journalist, author ("The Single Swallow")and radio producer Horatio Clare and the tiny crews of seafarers who transport goods, culture and ideas all around the world. “Down to the Sea in Ships” is Horatio’s fascinating look at our vital shipping industry and its extraordinary employees who must juggle families and friends with their dangerous lives at sea. Horatio’s lyrical narrative takes us aboard two of these colossal ships embarking upon cross-continental journeys: the first from East to West (Felixstowe to Los Angeles, via Suez) is rich with Mediterranean history, torn with typhoon nights and gilded with an unearthly Pacific peace; the second northerly passage from Antwerp to Montreal reeks of diesel, wuthers with gales and explores the frozen regions of the North Atlantic, in deep winter. 

Come and feel the wind in your hair and taste the salt on your tongue (whilst warming yourself by Mr B’s fire and scoffing maritime treats) as Horatio captains our epic voyage.


Travel around the world (from the comfort of the Bibliotherapy Room) with our new travel-themed events, featuring a Mr B’s interview with our special guest author, a reading to transport you to our literary destination, a glass of wine and a selection of themed nibbles.

 

Tickets £8 each or £14 for two.

 

To book call: 01225 331155, email books@mrbsemporium.com or pop into the shop.


 
 
March
9th
 

Mr B's Delightful and Tremendous Book Groups

Monday 9th March

6.45pm at Mr B's


The Man Whose Teeth were all Exactly Alike by Philip K. Dick


We offer a 10% discount on all of our book group books.


Please book your place by emailing books@mrbsemporium.com


 
March
11th

G E N E R A T I O N B.

Mr B's introduces

CECILIA EKBÄCK

Wednesday 11th March

7pm at Mr B's

 

Wolf Winter is a dark, atmospheric Scandinavian debut from Cecilia Ekbäck: a Swedish marketing expert/journalist turned novelist whose eye for beautiful desolate settings and unexpectedly complicated characters makes her one of our authors to watch in 2015.

Set in 18th Century Swedish Lapland, in the shadow of the haunting Blackåsen Mountain, "Wolf Winter" features a family of Finnish immigrants who have fled their homeland, hoping to leave the past behind and lay down new roots in this harsh but stunning landscape. In the midst of a bitterly cold, dark winter, the family become embroiled in the mystery of a mutilated body found in the snow and dismissed as the victim of a wolf attack. Whilst her husband Paavo travels beyond the community in search of work, Maija becomes convinced that the murder is the work of human hands and as she investigates further she discovers that the mountain and her new neighbours are harbouring darker secrets than she could have dared to imagine.

With a flavour of Hannah Kent's "Burial Rites", an equally intriguing setting and its smooth, detailed prose we think "Wolf Winter" is set to be one of the big books of this year. Join us as we chat to Cecilia about her atmospheric first novel.


G E N E R A T I O N  B. events offer close encounters with our favourite rising stars through an in-depth interview in our cosy Bibliotherapy Room accompanied by nibbles and wine.


Tickets £8 each or £14 for two.

 

To book call: 01225 331155, email books@mrbsemporium.com or pop into the shop.


 
March
24th

BOOK LOVERS UNITE!

Tilted World Night

with special guest author

CATHERINE CHANTER

Tuesday 24th March

7pm at Mr B's

 

"The Well" was scooping up literary prizes before it was even published (it was crowned the winner of the 2013 Lucy Cavendish Prize) and we think there's plenty more to come to its author Catherine Chanter and to this fascinating debut novel. 

The Well is an English farm - a little piece of paradise flourishing with lush crops and thriving livestock and surrounded, rather strangely, by a country that has been ravaged by drought. England has been a rain-free zone for over three years, The Well is the only exception. Its owners are ex-Londoners Ruth and Mark Ardingly, who moved to the farm to escape their harassed city lifestyles, but as the sole recipients of much-needed rain Ruth and Mark soon find themselves and their home under suspicion from reporters, government officials and desperate ordinary folk in search of their secret.

Join Catherine and the Mr B's team for an evening discussing literature featuring tilted worlds, where everyday lives are thrown into chaos by the world not behaving quite as it should! Catherine is such a seductively, compelling storyteller and "The Well" is sure to be one of the hottest reads of 2015.

Book Lovers Unite evenings are our original themed events, featuring a special guest author, music from The Bookshop Band, food and drink from lovely local places and a discussion of further literature along a shared theme. Keep an eye on our social media in advance of the event to help us build our list of other novels featuring tilted worlds!

Tickets £14 each or £25 for two.

 

To book call: 01225 331155, email books@mrbsemporium.com or pop into the shop.


 
April
29th
 

 

BOOK LOVERS UNITE!

Imperial Intrigue Night

with special guest author

M.J. CARTER

Wednesday 29th April

7pm at Mr B's

 

An evening of imperial intrigue in the company of M.J. (Miranda) Carter - the author of one of Mr B's bestselling books of 2014 "The Strangler Vine" and now its thrilling sequel "The Infidel Stain".

Miranda is a former journalist, who first conquered the world of non-fiction with her multi-award winning biography of Anthony Blunt and her entertaining insight into the lives of three dysfunctional nineteenth century leaders "Three Emperors". Then in 2014 she turned her pen to a series of historical mystery thrillers beginning with the CWA John Creasey Dagger shortlistee "The Strangler Vine". Set in early Victorian India, "The Strangler Vine" introduces William Avery a naive lieutenant and Jeremiah Blake a Special Inquiry Agent. The double-act are tasked with tracking down a missing poet who has become known for his salacious gossip and has disappeared into the depths of the jungle.

In "The Infidel Stain" Avery and Blake are reunited in London where they struggle to maintain their friendship and adapt to life after their Indian adventures. But their powers of investigation are called upon again when a series of shocking murders in the world of London's gutter press forces them back together.

Join us for an evening of mystery in the empire age, of history, intrigue and an exciting new detective double-act in the tradition of Holmes and Watson.

Book Lovers Unite evenings are our original themed events, featuring a special guest author, music from The Bookshop Band, food and drink from lovely local places and a discussion of further literature along a shared theme. Keep an eye on our social media in advance of the event to help us build our list of other intriguing imperial fiction!

Tickets £14 each or £25 for two.

 

To book call: 01225 331155, email books@mrbsemporium.com or pop into the shop.

 

 
May
28th

MR B's LEGENDS

An evening with

AMITAV GHOSH

Thursday 28th May

7pm at Bath Central United Reformed Church

7 Argyle Street, Bath, BA2 4BA


The long-awaited finale of Amitav Ghosh's stunning Ibis Trilogy will be published this May and we are delighted to welcome the man himself to Bath on publication day to introduce "Flood of Fire" - the final chapter in this epic exploration of 19th Century Asia and the opium trade.

The saga began with Sea of Poppies - which sets the scene aboard the vast Ibis, a ship on a tumultuous voyage across the Indian Ocean, destined to fight in China's vicious Opium Wars. On board are a motley crew of sailors, stowaways, coolies and convicts, thrown together by a period of Colonial upheaval who soon come to regard one another as unlikely "ship brothers". "Sea of Poppies" was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2008, and won itself a firm place on Mr B's favourites list too. Whilst "Sea of Poppies" travels along the Ganges and to Calcutta, where the poppies are grown and the opium processed, its sequel "River of Smoke" (which was nominated for the Man Asian Literary Prize) takes the story to Canton in China where the opium is sold and we delve deeper into the individual histories of the diverse range of characters aboard the boat. "Flood of Fire" is the exciting climax of the Ibis' voyage, written in Amitav's mesmerising style. As the mounting tension between China and British India comes to a head, the ship-brothers find themselves in the midst of the First Opium War.

Don't miss this opportunity to hear a contemporary literary legend talk about the final chapter in his historical masterpiece.


Legendary literary names bought to you by Mr B’s Emporium of Reading Delights. These events feature an in-depth interview, book signing and a Q&A session with your favourite writers with a few extra special Mr B’s touches.


Tickets £5 each (includes £5 off the book on the night).


To book call: 01225 331155, email books@mrbsemporium.com or pop into the shop.

 

 
     
     

Previous Book Lovers Unite Events

 


 

Season One: Travels From Your Armchair »

Season Two: Books Behaving Badly »

Season Three: The Winds of Change are Always Blowing »

Season Four: In Extremis »

 

   


 

 
Season Five: Now That's What I Call Fiction »      

LitFestLogo

eventalumni

 

Mr B’s at the Bath Literature Festival »

Events Alumni »

Mr B’s on the Road:
Our Events Outside the Shop »